The Council of Governors is legally responsible for the overall management and control of the College as a registered charity.

The Council fosters the development and prosperity of the College. The Council ensures the College abides by the provisions of its statutes and the constitutional arrangements the charity is subject to. Furthermore, the Council checks that the College abides by the legislation and regulation laid down for independent schools by the Department of Education.

The Council has membership of the Association of Governing Bodies in the same way as the Headmaster is a member of HMC, the Chief Financial Officer is a member of the Independent Schools Bursars’ Association, and the College is a corporate member of the Independent Schools Council and the Boarding Schools Association. Copies of the Statutes of the College and other governing regulations are available on request from the Clerk to the Council.

Ms S Bergqvist (Sophia)
  • Warden
  • Finance & General Purposes Committee
  • Pastoral Committee
  • Nominations & Governance Committee
  • Education Committee

Sophia is a strategy management consultant and runs her own business. She has been a member of two other governing bodies.

Mr A Aird (Alastair)
  • Deputy Warden
  • Finance & General Purposes Committee
  • Nominations & Governance Committee
  • People Governance Committee

Alastair has a business and marketing background. He is the Global Chairman of a media agency group and a current parent.

Mr I M Wood-Smith (Ian)*
  • Estates Committee
  • Nominations & Governance Committee

Ian has a legal background and is a Senior Partner of Field Seymour Parkes LLP. He was a Non-executive director of Reading Football Club for 20 years. Ian is also an Old Bradfieldian.

Mrs J Scarrow (Jan)
  • Chair of the Education Committee

Jan has a background in education. She is a former Head of an independent school and former Chair of the Boarding Schools’ Association.

Prof R Van de Noort (Robert) FSA PFHEA
  • Enterprises Committee
  • Education Committee

Robert is Vice Chancellor of Reading University and Principal Fellow of the Higher Education Academy. His academic field is the archaeology of the sea.

Mr S Clarkson-Webb (Simon)*
  • Chair of the Finance & General Purposes Committee
  • Audit and Risk Committee

Simon has a business background in accountancy, investment and private banking. He is an Old Bradfieldian.

Dr B Tomlinson BEng (Bruce)
  • Chair of the Enterprises Committee

Bruce has a background in international marine, environmental, energy sectors and the implementation of strategic development plans.

Mrs C Hartz (Catherine)
  • Chair of the Pastoral Committee
  • Child Protection Governor

Catherine has an NHS background. She is a qualified nurse and public health specialist and former emergency planner. She was also a Bradfield parent.

Mr S O’Malley (Simon)

Simon has an education background. He is the Head of leading London prep school and has considerable experience in boarding schools and as a governor.

Mr D Mundy (David)
  • Chair of the Estates Committee
  • Finance & General Purposes Committee

David has a background in property and a degree in Estate Management. He is a Chartered Surveyor and Partner in a West End surveying firm. He is also a former Bradfield parent.

Mr P Burrowes (Paddy)*
  • Chair of the People Governance Committee

Paddy is an Old Bradfieldian and was Bursar of Bradfield College from 2013-18 where he successfully led a £1.25m campaign to restore and re-open the iconic Greek Theatre. He has two children and enjoys a range of sports, particularly rugby, where he has exercised his talents coaching various junior teams at Henley Rugby Club.

Dr N Hodson (Nicola)

Nicola is the General Manager of Marketing & Operations for Microsoft UK.  She loves outdoor pursuits including off road biking, skiing, tennis and swimming.

Mr T W Hornett (Toby)
  • Pastoral Committee
  • People Governance Committee

Toby has a legal background having worked as a solicitor in private practice and in-house. Since then he has moved into Learning & Development and is a Visiting Fellow of Reading University.  He is a current Bradfield parent.

Mr G D Leeming (Graham)
  • Chair of the Audit & Risk Committee
  • Finance & General Purposes Committee

Graham is a chartered accountant. He has high-level experience across a number of business sectors and is currently Finance Director for a local independent civil engineering and consulting hydraulics organisation.

Mr G W C Eversfield (Geoff)
  • Finance & General Purposes Committee

Geoff has a broad range of financial experience ranging from global companies to small fast growing entrepreneurial businesses and is a Partner at PwC in London. He was previously a governor of St Andrew’s School.

Mrs J M Wood (Jo)
  • St Andrew’s Committee
  • Pastoral Committee

Jo’s teaching career spanned more than 35 years in a wide variety of schools, both state and independent, including grammar, preparatory and senior schools (day and boarding). She was a governor of St Andrew’s School for over 10 years.

Mr P N Waite (Philip)
  • Estates Committee

Philip has a background in property with extensive experience of school and college estates, and has degrees in Surveying and Geography. He is a Chartered Surveyor and the Managing Director of a firm of property consultants. He was previously a governor of St Andrew’s School.

Mr A J P Nott (Andrew)
  • Chair of the St Andrew’s Committee
  • Education Committee

Andrew was a prep school head for 20 years until he retired and now runs an Educational Consultancy. He is also an ISI inspector, a governor of HMC and IAPS schools and in September 2020 he became Chairman of the IAPS. He was previously a governor of St Andrew’s School.

Mr T Beardmore-Gray (Tom) MA FCA

*Old Bradfieldian

The Right Reverand The Lord Bishop of Oxford
Clerk to the council
Mrs H J Perkins (Helen)


Besides often visiting the College and attending meetings of the Council, all members of the Governing Body are involved in the structure of committees, which helps the governance of the College. These are:

  • The Finance and General Purposes Committee: this decides on major spending projects, authorises all spending by the Management of the College and has responsibility for the expenditure, cost controls and financial prosperity of the College;
  • The Estates Committee has overall responsibility for the buildings, lands and other Estates matters that the large campus at Bradfield entails;
  • The Audit and Risk Committee supervises the financial reporting, auditing and methodology; it also monitors risk and health and safety at the College;
  • The Education Committee advises on academic policy and curricular development;
  • The Pastoral Committee oversees the College’s pastoral care, including child protection and pupil and staff welfare. Its work includes Council/Staff liaison;
  • The People Governance Committee provides oversight of the delivery of the People Strategy, including current staff matters;
  • The St Andrew’s Committee monitors and evaluates the education and pastoral provision of St Andrew’s school and has responsibility for safeguarding and child protection within the School.
Contact details for Warden and Governors
Addressc/o Clerk to the Council
Bursar's Office
Bradfield College
Telephone0118 964 4500